Civil Disobedience Movement   Study & Career    Geography    History    Music    Quiz    Book Reviews    Terms & Glossory    Science    Fun & Trivia
   Home > History > Historical Events > Civil Disobedience Movement
Civil Disobedience Movement

GandhijiCivil Disobedience Movement launched in 1930 under MK Gandhi`s leadership was one of the most important phases of India`s freedom struggle. The simon commission, constituted in November 1927 by the British Government to prepare and finalize a constitution for India and consisting of members of the British Parliament only, was boycotted by all sections of the Indian social and political platforms as an `All-White Commission`. The opposition to the Simon Commission in Bengal was remarkable. In protest against the Commission, a hartal was observed on 3 February 1928 in various parts of the province. Massive demonstrations were held in Calcutta on 19 February1928, the day of Simon`s arrival in the city. On 1 March 1928, meetings were held simultaneously in all thirty-two wards of Calcutta urging people to renew the movement for boycott of British goods.

Motilal NehruFollowing the rejection of the recommendations of the Simon Commission by the Indians, an All-Party Conference was held at Bombay in May 1928 under the president ship of Dr MA Ansari. The Conference appointed a drafting committee under Motilal Nehru to draw up a constitution for India. The Nehru Report was accepted by all sections of Indian society except by a section of Indian Muslims. In December 1928, the Indian National Congress pressed the British Government to accept the Nehru Report in its entirety. The Calcutta Session of the Indian Congress (December 1928) virtually gave an ultimatum to the British Government, that if dominion status were not conceded by December 1929, a countrywide Civil Disobedience Movement would be launched. The British Government, however, declared in May 1929 that India would get dominion status within the Empire very soon.

More Interesting Readings
1947- Partition of I.. Battle of Haldighati Battle of Plassey
Civil Disobedience M.. Cripp`s Mission Shivaji Maharaj
First Anglo French W.. First Battle of Tara.. First Round Table Co..
Indian National Army Invasion of Genghis .. First Session of Ind..
Nehru`s Speech Non Cooperation Move.. Partition of Bengal
Quit India Movement Revolution of 1857 Salt Satyagraha
Second Round Table C.. Simon Commission Boy.. The Battle Of Wandiw..
The First Battle of .. The Invasion of the .. The Khilafat Movemen..
Third Battle of Pani.. Third Round Table Co.. Vijaynagar Empire | Home | Contact Us